Click here to skip to content

Management Book of the Year 2013 winners

Book cover of The Management Book

Britain's best management book is named - read about the five winning books and authors in the 2013 Management Book of the Year.

The Management Book, by Richard Newton, was named as the CMI Management Book of the Year 2013 at an awards ceremony hosted by the British Library on the evening of 28 January.

The Management Book of the Year competition is run by the Chartered Management Institute (CMI) in association with the British Library. It seeks to uncover the UK's best books on management and leadership and raise the profile of the great management writing published or distributed in the UK.

The competition, which is run in association with the British Library and sponsored by Henley Business School, is judged by a panel of business leaders including Sir Anthony Cleaver, former chief executive and chairman of IBM.  He explained why Richard’s book stood out:

'Last year the Oxford University Press chose the word 'omnishambles' – a situation that has been comprehensively mismanaged – as their word of 2012; suggesting something has gone seriously wrong with the UK’s management skills.It is now 43 years since I first became a manager but I can still remember the anxiety of constantly encountering new situations. In this economic environment, managers need to be more skilled than ever before. We can no longer afford the luxury of learning on the job and Richard’s book provides the perfect guide for anyone, regardless of seniority or experience, to consider the essential people management skills required to become a successful leader. It is the kind of book that I wish I had had access to when I was starting my career – it would certainly have saved me a lot of time and trouble!'

Commenting on his success, winning author Richard Newton, said:

'In my experience, most management failures occur when the basics are not done well. Likewise, even a good strategy is unlikely to be implemented effectively if managers do not have the straightforward skills to lead their team. Trends and fads in management may change, but what remains is the fundamental importance of good management.'

'If you only take three tips from my book to get back to management basics, they should be:

  • The management role is made, not given. You need to shape it rather than let it shape you.
  • If you let your team be successful, you will be successful.
  • Being a manager is something to be proud of. Fundamentally every organisation builds from its management.'


Professor Cary Cooper of Lancaster University Management School and this year’s Chair of Judges, continued:

'CMI’s recent survey The Quality of Working Life 2012 found that the predominant management styles last year were bureaucratic, authoritarian and reactive: all styles that have a negative impact on motivation, well-being and productivity levels. There are far too many recent examples that illustrate the ineffectiveness of this approach to management, and if we are to support the UK’s economic recovery, there is a real need for change. The Management Book speaks directly to this issue, and it is for this reason that we decided to name it CMI’s Management Book of the Year.'

The Management Book – which also won the Practical Manager category - is accessibly structured in 36 short sections that you can dip into and read as an individual piece of advice. Focusing on the people side of management, it identifies that there are still a great many businesses where managers, even at a senior level, do not know the best way to manage and get the most out of their staff.  It is the eighth book from author Richard Newton, who has over 25 years’ experience in line management and consultancy across a range of sectors.

The other Management Book of the Year category winners were:

Management & Leadership Textbook category
Managing Equality and Diversity: Theory and practice
by Savita Kumra and Simonetta Manfredi. Published by Oxford University Press.

Innovation & Entrepreneurship category
Winning at Innovation: The A-F model
by Fernando Trías de Bes and Philip Kotler. Published by Palgrave Macmillan.

New Manager category
The Leadership Skills Handbook
by Jo Owen. Published by Kogan Page.

Commuter’s Read category
The Strategy Book: How to think and act strategically to deliver outstanding results
by Max Mckeown. Published by Pearson.

Further reading

Find out more about the winning books and what you should be reading to enhance your career at

Find out more about the competition and judging process in this earlier article Management Book of the Year competition

Your comments: tell us more about this article

Terms and conditions | What is this?

You must be a registered user to add comments.

Contribute content to the Library

Preserve and disseminate your work for free

By using this site, you agree we can set and use cookies. For more details of these cookies and how to disable them, see our cookie policy.